DOTD's Safe Routes to School Program Selects 13 New Projects

For Release On:

September 05, 2013

Baton Rouge: The Louisiana Department of Transportation and Development (DOTD) Safe Routes to School Program announced that thirteen new projects have been selected in the 2013 application cycle.

The Safe Routes to School Program aims to improve the health of kids and the community by making walking and bicycling to school safer, easier and more enjoyable. The program is completely federally funded, requiring no organizational match. The program assesses the safety of school travel routes; makes changes to current conditions; educates students and drivers about safe travel; and encourages walking and biking to school.

This year, projects include sidewalk and bike path construction, educational programs and installing flashing safety beacons. The program funds up to $250,000 for infrastructure projects and up to $150,000 for non-infrastructure projects.

The 2013 list of selected entities is as follows:

Ouachita Parish Police Jury (Riser Elementary School)
City of Alexandria (Martin Park Elementary School)
City of Lake Charles (Barbe Elementary School)
Town of Franklinton (Franklinton Junior High School)
City of Pineville (Pineville Elementary School)
City of Covington (Pine View Middle School)
City of Denham Springs (Northside Elementary School)
City of New Orleans (Einstein Charter School)
KidsWalk Coalition (Multiple Schools)
Audubon Charter School (Audubon Charter School in New Orleans)
Ouachita Parish Police Jury (Swartz Upper and Lower Elementary Schools)
City of Kenner (Chateau Elementary School)
Young Leadership Council (Multiple Schools)

For more information and to obtain an application, please contact Shalanda Cole at: shalanda.cole@la.gov

Additional Contact Information:

Contact Name Contact Phone  
Public Information Office (225) 379-1232  
Department of Transportation and Development http://www.dotd.la.gov/pressreleases/rel ease.aspx?key=2404

Republished by LOUISIANA NEWS | www.louisiana.gov