2013 Official State Holidays

Published 12/13/2012 03:12:47 PM | Updated 01/24/2014 03:01:59 AM

What are the official state holidays in 2013?

 


A list of the official Louisiana state holidays for 2013 is available on the Office of State Purchasing and Travel website (shown below).

Holiday
Always falls on...
Date Observed in 2013
New Year's Day
January 1
Tuesday, January 1
Martin Luther King, Jr.'s Birthday
3rd Monday in January
Monday, January 21
Mardi Gras
Tuesday before Ash Wednesday
Tuesday, February 12
Good Friday
Friday before Easter
Friday, March 29

*Memorial Day

Last Monday in May Monday, May 27
Independence Day
July 4
Thursday, July 4
Labor Day
1st Monday in September
Monday, September 2
Veterans Day
November 11
Monday, November 11
Thanksgiving Day
4th Thursday in November
Thursday, November 28
Christmas Day
December 25
Wednesday, December 25

*Inauguration Day is a holiday in the City of Baton Rouge once every four years, and Memorial Day shall be annually proclaimed as a legal holiday as specified in R.S.1.55. General Election Day is a state holiday the first Tuesday after the first Monday in November in even-numbered years.

Louisiana Revised Statute 1:55 declares days of public rest and legal holidays: http://www.legis.state.la.us/lss/lss.asp?doc=74097

Other dates may be proclaimed as holidays by the Governor.  Dates proclaimed as holidays by the Governor are found in the Civil Service "General Circulars" at: http://www.civilservice.louisiana.gov/Publications/GeneralCirculars.aspx 

The list of 2014 Official Holidays is available online at: http://doa.louisiana.gov/osp/aboutus/2014holidays.htm

Was this answer helpful?